Skip to main content.

The Alberta Youth Choir is the province's honour choir for singers ages 16-22. AYC provides a unique opportunity for outstanding young singers from across the province to join forces in the pursuit of excellence in choral music under the direction of a renowned conductor. Conductors and teachers from across the province are encouraged to recommend their strongest singers for an audition.

Rehearsal Weekend | 1-2 October 2016, Red Deer
Residency | 20-22 October 2016, Banff
Tour Concert| 23 October 2015, Calgary


Fred Sjöberg, born 1953, is an educated singer and choral conductor at the Royal Academy of Music in Stockholm and Örebro. Among others he has studied with Prof. Solwig Grippe, Prof. Eric Ericson and Prof. Helmuth Rilling. He has been the first conductor to conduct the three major international youth choirs as World Youth Choir (1991 and 2005), World Chamber Choir (1993) and European Youth Choir (1999). He has been the principal conductor for the French National Youth Choir and invited guest conductor for Japan National Youth Choir.

When the Swedish organization for young choirs “UngiKör” started he was elected as their first president. In 2000 he was appointed as the “Conductor of the Year” in Sweden by

SCDA (Swedish Choral Directors Association) appointed with the Johannes Norrby Medallion 2001 for outstanding and service and development to the Swedish Choral Life.

From 1997 to 2004 he was the Music Director and conductor of the biggest sponsor project ever for the Swedish Choral life in Sweden called “Notes for Millions”.

From 2000 to 2004 he was also Music Director of the Swedish Choral Centre as well as Artistic Director for Lund International Choral Festival from 2005 to 2006. Since 2009 he is Music Director of Swedish International Choral Centre in Örebro. Fred Sjöberg has been Vice President of Europa Cantat as well as President of the Music Commission of Europa Cantat and has also been Vice President of IFCM. He is Council Member of INTERKULTUR and also on the Artistic Directorium of INTERKULTUR.

From 2015 he is General Artistic Director of INTERKULTUR.

Click the links below for videos of AYC 2013's performance at the Music Conference Alberta Gala Concert
Robert Filion, guest conductor | Dr. Roger Admiral, pianist


AYC 2016
Guest Conductor: Fred Sjöberg
Apprentice Conductor: Gloria Wan
Accompanist: Tova Olson

Leonardo Dreams of His Flying Machine | Eric Whitacre
Indodana | Traidtional Zulu, arr. Michael Barrett & Ralf Schmitt, adapted by Andre van der Merwe
Ave Maris Stella | Edvard Grieg
Voi Pue da me partite | Claudio Monteverdi
To See A World | William Blake and Sven-David Sandström
Kyrie: Call to Prayer |
David Fanshawe
La Muerte del Angel
| Nestor Zadoff and Astor Piazzolla
Och junfrun hon gar i ringen
| Hugo Alfven
ABBA Medley
| arr. Göran Bejstam


AYC 2015
Guest Conductor: Dr. Graeme Langager
Accompanist: Dr. Roger Admiral

Ah, El Novio No Quere Dinero | arr. Mack Wilberg
Away From the Roll of the Sea | Allister MacGillivray arr. Jennifer McMillan
Didn't My Lord Deliver Daniel | arr. Moses Hogan
Gaudium Vestrum Sit Plenum | Graeme Langager
Gjendines Badnlat | arr. Gunnar Eriksson
I Am Not Yours | David N. Childs
Muie Rendera | arr. C. A Pinto Fonseca
Peze Kafé | arr. Sten Kallman
Steal Away| arr. Stephen Coker
There Is No Rose | Don Macdonald

AYC 2014

Guest Conductor: Rollo DIlworth
Apprentice Conductor:
Brittany Mielnichuk
Accompanist: Mathew Walton

Te Deum | W. A. Mozart
The Gift to be Free | arr. Rollo Dilworth
Oh, What a Beautiful City | arr. Rollo Dilworth
Ubi Caritas | Ola Gjeilo
The Bridge Builder | Eleanor Daley
Ritmo | Dan Davison
Savory, Sage, Rosemary, Thyme | arr. Donald Patriquin
Shine the Heavensly Light | arr. Rollo Dilworth

AYC 2013

Guest Conductor: Robert Filion
Apprentice Conductor: Angela McKeown
Accompanist: Roger Admiral

J’ai vu le loup | arr. Stephen Hatfield
Le pont Mirabeau | Lionel Daunais
J’ai du bon tabac | A. Ravizé
Miniwanka | R. Murray Schafer
Ne sedi, Djemo | arr. Steven Sametz
It takes a Whole Village | Joan Szymko
Go, Lassie Go | arr. Mark Sirett
Diraiton | Morten Lauridsen
Le Merle | Lionel Daunais
Et pour cette raison | Stephen Hatfield
Au clair de la lune | arr. Peter R. Allen
Kom! | Monica Aslund
Bruremarsj fra Valsoyfjord/Aura (Wedding March from Norway) | arr. Henning Sommerro
Leaning on the Everlasting Arms | arr. Georgie Roberts

AYC 2012

Guest Conductor: Scott Leithead
Apprentice Conductor: Lisa Friesen
Accompanist: Tova Olson
Vocal Coach: none

Lay a Garland | Robert Pearsall (public domain)
In Paradisum | Edward Fissinger (Plymouth)
Raindance | Karl Jenkins, arr. Jennifer McMillan (unpublished)
No Time | arr. Susan Brumfiled, adapted by Alan Xaykongsa
John Saw Duh Numbuh | arr. Parker/Shaw
The Ground | Ola Gjeillo
Snow Angel, Mvts 3 and 4 |Sarah Quartel
Dina Koloi | Tswana Song
Yesu Weya | Nama/Damara Song

AYC 2011

Guest Conductor: Dr. Catherine Robbins
Apprentice Conductor: Alexander McCune
Accompanist: Dr. Roger Admiral
Rehearsal Conductor: Lisa Ward
Rehearsal Accompanist: Kimberley Denis and Brendan Lord

Vocal Coach: none

Stella Splendens from "Llibre vermell" | Anonymous 14th C.
Be Merciful Unto Me | Mark Murphy
Quaker Spiritual | Anonymous
Gøta | Peder Karlsson
Bogoroditse Djevo | Arvo Pärt
Sure on this Shining Night | Morton Lauridsen
Lament for a Lost Child |Jere Hutcheson
Precious Lord | Traditional arr. Arnold Service

AYC 2010

Guest Conductor: Dr. Elroy Friesen
Apprentice Conductor: none
Accompanist: Sheila Wright
Vocal Coach: none

Nú hverfur sól | Einarsson (Íslensk Tónverkamidstöd 22195)
Kulokk | Traditional (unpublished)
Motion | Rasmussen (Cantando Musikforlag A/S, Stavangar, Norway Order No. 2400)
Kaikki maat, te riemuitkaate | Makaroff (Sulasol 1189)
Tre lå | arr. Kennemark (Argument Förlag)
Eatnemen Vuelie | Fjellheim (Boosey and Hawkes)
Kaksi laulua Vigiliasta (Two Extracts from the Vigil) | Rautavaara (Fennica Gehrmans Oy, Finland)
Gloria | Timothy Corlis (unpublished)
Woodsmoke and Oranges |Tamblyn as sung by Three Sheets to the Wind (unpublished)

AYC 2009

Guest Conductor: Maria Guinand
Apprentice Conductor: Maria Conkey
Accompanist: Dr. Roger Admiral
Vocal Coach: none

Al tribunal de tu Pecho | Carlos Guastavino (Neil A. Kjos)
Una de dos | Carlos Guastavino (Neil A. Kjos)
O Magnum Mysterium | Cesar Carillo (earthsongs)
Carpuela Lindo | Eugenio Auz (earthsongs)
Guarare | Ricardo Fabregas, arr. Alberto Grau (earthsongs)
Duerme Negrito | arr. Emilio Sole (earthsongs)
Pater Noster | Alberto Grau (earthsongs)
Son de la Loma | Miguel Matamoros, arr. Alberto Grau (earthsongs)
Donkey Riding from Boot Jack Jaw Harp |arr. Donald Coakley (Lesley)
The Winter's Gone from Boot Jack Jaw Harp |arr. Donald Coakley (Lesley)
Rattle on the Stovepipe from Boot Jack Jaw Harp |arr. Donald Coakley (Lesley)

AYC 2008

Guest Conductor: Dr. Adam Con
Apprentice Conductor: Elaine Myhre
Accompanist: Dr. Roger Admiral
Vocal Coach: none

Exultate Deo | Giovanni Pierluigi da Palestrina (Schirmer)
Frohlocket Ihr Volker Auf Erden  | Felix Mendelssohn
Desh | Ethan Sperry (earthsongs)
Paradise Song of Georgian Bay  | Eleanor Daley (Rhythmic Trident Music)
Bach (Again) Come Sweet Death   |  J.S. Bach, arr. Edwin Londan & Rhonda Sandberg (Colla Voce)
Poputnaya Pesnia (Travelling Song)    | Mikhail Glinka (Schirmer)
Vela! Asambeni Siyekhaya! | Andre van der Merwe (earthsongs)